Beit Hatfutsot is a public, not-for-profit organization with private and governmental involvement.

Beit Hatfutsot has four shareholders:

  1. The State of Israel;
  2. The Jewish Agency for Israel/World Zionist Organization;
  3. Tel Aviv University;
  4. The World Jewish Congress.

According to the 2005 Beit Hatfutsot Law, Beit Hatfutsot has the status of National Center for Jewish Communities in Israel and around the world.

The directing institutions of Beit Hatfutsot are:

  • The General Assembly – meeting of shareholders of the organization;
  • Board of Governors – the senior representative and advisory body;
  • The Board of Directors – the management body
  • Senator Joseph I. Lieberman, Honorary Chair

    Senator Joseph I. Lieberman, Honorary Chair

    Now Senior Counsel at the law firm of Kasowitz, Benson, Torres, and Friedman in New York, Joseph I. Lieberman was for 24 years a member of the U.S. Senate from Connecticut. At the end of his service in January 2013, he was Chairman of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, and a senior member of the Armed Services Committee. Through both Committee positions, he became a leader in protecting the security of the American people and supporting American international leadership. Senator Lieberman is known as a national leader who works across party lines to get things done and who speaks his conscience regardless of the political consequences. Before his election to the Senate in 1988, Senator Lieberman served 10 years in the Connecticut State Senate and 6 years as Connecticut’s Attorney General. In 2000 he was the Democratic candidate for Vice President of the United States.

    Senator Lieberman is married to Hadassah Freilich Lieberman. Together they have four children and 12 grandchildren.

  • Ambassador Alfred H. Moses, Co-Chair

    Ambassador Alfred H. Moses, Co-Chair

    Alfred Moses is Chief Strategy Officer, Senior Partner and Co-Founder of Promontory Financial Group, a financial services firm with offices in D.C., New York, San Francisco, and eight countries abroad.

    Moses is Senior Counsel to the law firm of Covington & Burling LLP, where he has been a partner since 1965. Ambassador Moses has had a distinguished career in public service spanning more than three decades. He served President Clinton as American Ambassador to Romania and Special Presidential Envoy for the Cyprus Conflict and President Carter as Special Advisor and Special Counsel.

    Moses was National President of The American Jewish Committee (AJC) for four terms and now chairs its National Advisory Council. He is currently a member of the Diplomatic Council on Energy Security (SAFE) and serves as chair of UN Watch, Geneva, Switzerland and chair of the International Board of Trustees of The Institute for National Security Studies in Tel Aviv. Among many other leadership positions, Moses is a former member of the Board of Regents of Georgetown University and former trustee of the Phelps-Stokes Fund and of Haifa University.

    Moses received his B.A. from Dartmouth College, did graduate work at the Princeton Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, and received his J.D. from Georgetown University Law School. He was on active duty as an intelligence officer in the U.S. Navy from 1952 to 1956 on the staff of the Chief of Naval Operations.

  • Maj. General (res.) Eitan Ben-Eliahu, Co-Chair

    Maj. General (res.) Eitan Ben-Eliahu, Co-Chair

    Eitan was born and raised in Jerusalem. During his 38 years in the Israel Air Force (IAF), Major General (Res.) Eitan Ben-Eliahu was an active fighter pilot.  In 1996, he was appointed Air Force Chief Commander, a post he held for four years.

    After his retirement, Eitan founded and managed STG, a company focused on defence technologies. His shares were successfully sold in 2006. Currently Mr. Ben-Eliahu is Chairman of Aeronautics Ltd, a leading developer and manufacturer of unmanned airborne vehicles; Chairman of Ariel Photonics Ltd; and a Director at Diamond Fund, a hedge fund based in Switzerland and Singapore. He lectures at The Open University of Tel Aviv on policy and national defense.

    Mr. Ben-Eliahu is active in numerous social and communal organizations. He serves as Chairman of Academic Center of Law & Business, a college in Ramat-Gan, Israel; and is a member of the Yad Ben-Zvi Institute for the Study of Jewish Communities, the Executive Committee of College for All, and the Board of the Rubin Museum in Tel Aviv.

    Mr. Ben-Eliahu holds an undergraduate degree in Economics and Business Administration from Bar Ilan University and a graduate degree in Strategy and International Relations from Tel Aviv.


Members of the Board of Governors

(* = membership pending)

  • Eli Alroy
  • Joel Aaronson
  • Israel Bartal
  • Gisele Ben-Dor
  • Ronen Bergman
  • Erica Brown
  • Sam Bloch
  • Ram Caspi
  • Uri Dori
  • Gideon Dover
  • Moshe Edery
  • Ami Federmann
  • Cheryl Fishbein
  • Aharon Frenkel
  • Jeffrey Goldberg
  • Stephen Greenberg
  • Amos & Shosh Hadar
  • Zeev Holtzman
  • Ron Huldai
  • Shahab Karmely
  • Jonathan Kolber
  • Harvey Krueger
  • Ami (Amihaz) Lustig
  • Jack Mahfar
  • Sabby Mionis
  • Leonid Nevzlin (Founding Chair)
  • Avi Pazner
  • Chemi Peres
  • Daniel Pincus
  • Itamar Rabinovich
  • Leon Recanati
  • Uriel Reichman
  • Gaby Safdie*
  • Ami Sagy
  • Avner Shalev
  • Ruth Shamir Popkin
  • Ricky Shechtel
  • Zalman Shoval
  • Rene Sirat
  • Rita Spiegel
  • Judy Stern Peck
  • Nina Weiner
  • Susan Weikers Balaban
  • Shlomo Yanai
  • Gad Zeevi